mydisneyadventures

Just another WordPress.com site

Tribute to Sheila October 21, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — paddedpup @ 8:15 pm

I’m hoping that making this helps me heal. It feels like I’ve cried all the tears I’ve can, but I’m sure there will be more at some point. None of this seems real, but instead it feels like a bad dream that I can’t wake up from. I still can believe that she’s gone…that I will never see her again. It doesn’t seem right or fair that it happened this way. I talked to one of the girls at the programs office today, and she told me that she lost one of her dogs in July…and that she understood where I was coming from, and how hard it is to heal. She said I may only fully accept it once I get home…and that may be true. I got a Grievance ER today, so I could have more time to heal. My Coordinator was real understanding…and said he wished dogs could live forever. Several cast members gave me their condolences, and said if I needed anything I could come to them. So here it is…my tribute to Sheila…

She was such a sweet dog…with a loud bark and a big heart. The only creatures that had to fear her were squirrels, skinks,blue tongues, and bunnies. She’d make her spot anywhere she pleased, and wouldn’t move until she was good and ready. She loved to be around her people, and would always greet us with a smile and a lick. I’m going to miss that smile…not many dogs can smile, but I always felt that her smile showed true love.

When we took her and her brother to the mountains they didn’t like it as much as we thought they would. The only place for Sheila was the house on a couch, bed, or in the sun.

Sheila…my sweet, sweet girl…may you rest in peace and run wild and free at Rainbow Bridge. You can meet Rosie, and play with her, as well as Maggie and Buddy. Run through the grass, and chase all the rabbits, squirrels, and skinks you want…maybe you’ll catch one. Wait for us there, and one day we will all be together again. Sheila…this is for you:

My sweet, sweet girl you’ve passed on

It’s hard to believe you are actually gone.

It seemed that you left before your time

You might even say you were in your prime.

No longer will I hear your welcoming bark

Or have to try and find you out in the dark.

I will no longer feel your warmness at my feet

And I won’t have to worry about you begging to eat.

When you left my girl, a part of me left too

I will spend everyday thinking of you.

My sweet girl, you were a true friend

And within time, my wounds will mend.

Run free my girl, and may you feel no pain

You will no longer have to worry about the rain.

May the sun shine everyday

and may you lay in the rays.

I love you Sheila, with all my heart and I always will

You have a place in my heart and there you will always stay.

Be a good girl up there Sheila, and make sure you behave. I’m sure Rosie will be happy to show you around. May you have never ending treats, and enormous denta sticks. Love, Love, Love to you Goosa….

 

13 Responses to “Tribute to Sheila”

  1. Julia Says:

    Beautifully written, Jess. xo

  2. Julia Says:

    from Jackie.
    What a lovely tribute to a well-loved doggie. I hope Jess will heal, as well as each of you, from this loss.

  3. Julia Says:

    From Lynne

    Having lost several doggies, I feel for Jess. It really hurts, because you have accepted them as a member of your family and then suddenly they are gone. I remember how devastated I was after I lost Papi shortly after Wes died, then how Bella girl died shortly after I moved here, now I have JoJo who is almost 12 and I worry.

    Other than that, I sure did enjoy her posts on that site, she is a good writer and it was fun to see what she’s up to!

  4. Julia Says:

    From Midge
    Every dog I have owned has been a real part of my family so I know what she is going through. I am glad her friends are so supportive.

  5. Julia Says:

    From Sharon

    Oh , how sweet. we all can appreciate the pain you all are going through, but you sure gave them a lifetime full of love.

  6. Julia Says:

    from Sandi
    this was wonderful!! GOSH, I remember sharing the grief when my Karmel died — You all held my hand, and ‘handed me kleenex’ for weeks after he died. THEY are part of our family – and it is good we take whatever steps we can to grieve the loss.
    What a beautiful poem she shared — glad her co-workers are so supportive!!
    Huggers to Jess and to all of you!

  7. Julia Says:

    from Frances

    Aww just makes me feel like crying too – such a lovely tribute.
    It is good to see her work mates are so supportive too. this is a heartwrenching loss and
    Jess would be alone if it was not for their support. (((HUGS))) to all of you.

  8. Julia Says:

    from Linda,

    Just beautiful. Jess has done a wonderful job of memorializing your sweet Sheila. It has to be so hard for her to be far away from home and deal with the fact that she won’t see her pet again. Isn’t it good we can visualize them happy and playing at Rainbow Bridge, waiting for their masters to catch up.
    I too enjoyed reading some of her other posts and catching up on what she’s doing. It’s so amazing that she has gotten so grown up and wonderful to see her independent and doing well.

  9. Julia Says:

    From Alberta,
    What a sweet tribute. When will Jess be home?

  10. Julia Says:

    From Chris,

    Aww…I wanted to cry after reading that. I know it must be harder on her since she isn’t home to grieve with you and Ralph. I love her blog.

  11. Julia Says:

    From Ruth,
    I am so very sorry that Sheila has gone on to the Rainbow Bridge. We all feel like Sheila and Cobber are part of the NB family! Jess’ tribute was beautiful and I felt each thing she was expressing, having parted with several dogs in the past. I went on to read a few more of her Disney posts and enjoyed her writing. Give her my love and deepest sympathy too. I didn’t know about this earlier, so please accept my condolences to you and Ralph as well.

  12. Julia Says:

    From Bobbi

    Such a sweet tribute & it brought tears to my eyes as I read it. Brought back the painful memories of our beloved pets we’ve lost over the years. You never forget them because they leave their paw prints on our hearts & in our memories.

  13. Julia Says:

    From Barbara,

    I know Jess is having a hard time since she’s not home….My love to you sweetie and big hugs!

    I know how hard it is to lose a pet as well, no one can understand unless they love animals. It’s feels like someone has ripped your heart out! I’ll never forget all the animals I have had during my lifetime and each and every one was so special to me.


Leave a Reply

